The train on platform 2 isn't

Although I've not used the trains for a couple of months, I've never stopped the morning and evening alerts from Scotrail that tell me about today's disruption. As well as mentally totting up how much I haven't spent on train fares, I like to have a wee smile to myself knowing that I'm not going to be part of that day's pissed off and irritable huddle on a cold platform waiting.

Not today though. Between my sore leg from yesterday and the howling wind and pissing rain I reckoned that cycling wouldn't be too clever. Fine going in with the wind at my back but potentially hellish and sore coming back pushing into the wind. So I was on the train. And, of course, although there was no disruption at 16.45 when the email came, by the time I'd hobbled to the station at 5.30 the entire Fife circle was suspended because of flooding at Dalmeny. So it was another limp back to Queensferry Street for a bus to Ferrytoll and then another to Inverkeithing to get the car. It was hardly even raining and not at all windy. Grrr.

Still, it's good to be reminded just how slow, shit and expensive public transport is. No question of giving up on the bike to go back to that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.