The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Drop shot

A bit of a variation on the water drop shot. This is the birch outside my office window. The weather was perfectly vile today. There were numerous showers of wet snow, blown about in the freezing wind. I stopped on the front at Sandside to try and photograph the snow-crusted fells across the estuary, but another shower swept through and blotted out the view.

Sue and Rowan indomitably braved it for a walk at lunchtime, but as I'd left my boots at home I stayed in the office, and took some photos out of the window. This one is dedicated to Westmorlandic Wanderings, who gave me the idea.

Not much else to report. Winter has arrived at last, though we still have a few flowers in the garden, and some of the daffodil and tulip bulbs have been fooled into sprouting early.

ps Brokenbanjo tells me this morning that an otter was photographed on Arnside Marsh. One of these days I'll trip over one when I am least expecting it.

A year ago - a shot of shadows, mist, snow and a solitary tree, still a favourite for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.