Journey Through Time

By Sue

Western Scrub Jay

Where we live we see two different types of Jays, the Western Scrub Jay and the Steller's Jay. Both were in our yard today, but this guy stayed around taking a bath long enough for me to get some photos of him through the sliding glass door. If I'd opened the door, he'd be long gone. After his bath he stretched up really tall, and this is when he did that. There is a Pinyon Jay that lives in the central and eastern part of Oregon, and that is all the ones that live in the Western US. Today the crows and the jays were making quite a racket over something. They were up in the tall firs and squawking and having quite a loud argument over whatever they were upset about. Then, it just quiets down and it's business as usual, I guess.

The sun came out and it was so pretty and the birds were all over the place. They were enjoying the sunshine too, I think.

I made cookies today, chocolate chip. This was Martha Stewart's soft chocolate chip version and it came out pretty good. We don't like the crunchy kind of cookies. I was just working on a Christmas letter, and other than some laundry, that's about all that got accomplished today. Well from me. Bill did some outside chores. It sure was nice to see the sun today, though. Bill thinks he is getting the cold that our son and I had. Seems like he waited a long time to come down with that. I thought sure he got lucky. Guess not!

Have a good day, Blippers! See ya later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.