Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

On reflection

A rough day, starting early to tackle the final stages of the quarterly magazine which was scheduled for sign-off and upload to the printer today. I got a good bit of work done by the time the client made it to the office and then the rest of the morning was packed with interruptions as I dealt with changes and corrections, all the while as I was working on the last two 2-page spreads. I took a much-needed break at 11:00 and told the client I'd be back at work at 12:30 or so.

I needed to get over to Carl's place to pick up a remote for the Blu-Ray player I inherited when he got his new one (I need it for tomorrow when I'm hosting the Music Group). I treated myself to a bit of a blip stop around Dún Laoghaire and then had to stop at a filling station on the way home because my lens cap had gone missing there on the way over. Thankfully, the lens cap was still on the ground, undamaged. I took this as a good omen and was fighting fit and ready to tackle the rest of the job when I got back to 'the office'. All went well, the client signed off just before 5:00. I'd exported high-resolution PDFs and uploaded these to the Printer's automated system all by 6:00, and I'm feeling the usual rush of euphoria and contentment at another job finished on time despite the client's worst efforts.

I'm off now to the National Concert Hall for what promises to be a really good concert (Evelyn Glennie, the percussionist, is soloist).

The blip? It's a while since I've done a reflection shot, and I just happened to like what I saw when I looked across the road from the filling station after rescuing my lens cap. This is part of a massive office and apartment complex which was built at the height of the Celtic Tiger boom. Some of the offices are occupied, but most of the apartments remain vacant.

p.s. Yesterday's gap will be filled shortly. Nothing earth-shattering, I'm afraid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.