Common Skink

Smooth skinned lizard endemic to New Zealand. By some accounts it's an Oligosoma nigriplantare. Best viewed large.

Today I discovered a whole family of lizards lounging in the lesser Mexican stonecrop. I was standing very still observing a half-grown praying mantis nymph and gradually became aware of the scene beyond it. There were three really fat, dark skinks and four long skinny ones in the usual colour. I don't recall seeing them as dark as this, and so fat! Perhaps they are pregnant females. I must keep watch as they give birth to live young. This one is much shorter than usual because it has sacrificed its tail while under attack. A new one is growing, which is why it looks strange. The lizard was 8 or 9 cms long, but with an intact tail would be 13 or 14 cms long.

Here is one I blipped some time ago, that is the usual shape and colour. That one is wrongly labelled with a name I got from an outdated book.

The clouds went up higher today and the mountains were visible. They were dark grey and sombre, flat against the light grey sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.