Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Pass the corn...

I hope that everyone had a wonderful Christmas! Seymour was thrilled beyond all measure to have made the Spotlight page and was begging to be blipped again, but I had to tell him "no". I can't have the glory going to his head. Besides that, the blue jays are getting jealous.

When I woke up and looked out on the "habitat" this morning, I was treated to something I have never seen before - a cedar waxwing!! Not a great picture, but this is a bird not usually seen her in the winter so it was a thrill to see it. It was followed immediately by a thirsty bunch of starlings and a beautiful American robin who almost became today's blip.

After the big bird frenzy, we left and drove into NYC for a wonderful day of Christmas-y activities. We strolled 5th Avenue to see all the store windows - Burgdorf Goodman won, hands down - and a look at the tree at Rock Center. Followed by a great late lunch at Salute on 39th and Madison, my old neighborhood and a frequent haunt of Willie's and mine in the old days. We spent the day with Kura, one of my very dearest friends, which turned out to be just a perfect way to celebrate the holiday this year. Lunch for me, by the way, was pappardelle with lamb ragu ... fan-flipping-tastic.

I was going to blip a shot taken with my blackberry of the tree at Rock Center, but there was some problem with the exif data and I couldn't get it to post ... so another bird from the bird lady ... go figure.

Happy, happy Christmas!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.