The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

New Fat Cake Feeder (With Added GSW)

One of the strangest things to happen over the festive period was the loss of my fat cake feeder.

I made sure all the feeders were filled to brimming before I left for our visit to Lincolnshire. The last thing I put out was the fat cake feeder, it fell of the tree twice whilst hanging up, even then it went through my head that a Jackdaw or Magpie would knock it off as soon as I left. Oh well, I thought, what would it matter ...

When we got back I went out there to restock the now empty feeders. The fat cake feeder was gone ... nowhere to be seen. Trust me, I have searched the garden high and low, and there is no sign of it.

I can only assume that the Jackdaws and Magpies made off with it, when it got light enough to carry the remainder of the fat cake off. I suspect that somewhere up in the woods is my fat cake feeder.

So whilst at Newport Wetlands last week I bought a new one, and put it out yesterday. Luckily the resident male Greater Spotted Woodpecker loves it just as much as the old one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.