Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Look Homeward, Angel

I had intended a different blipspedition today, but my plan didn't work out. On my way I drove by this house that I have seen and marveled at a number of times. It's right in the middle of a very upscale Portland neighborhood - big old houses with professionally landscaped yards, tidy lawns.

And then there's this place. This photo does not represent the full effect of the yard - I found it difficult to take just one photo to offer you that. Instead, look here at a slideshow.

The front yard is crammed with all manner of yard "art" (using the term quite loosely here). Bird baths, statues of St Francis, garden gnomes, and lawn jockeys; pink flamingos, angels; cement dogs, deer, ducks, cats, seagulls, owls, squirrels, rabbits, plastic poinsettias, goddesses, cherubs, old wagons, wheelbarrows, wagon wheels, buckets, watering cans, broken dishware, flower pots. There is a strip of well-maintained lawn between the kitsch and the sidewalk.

I have to wonder what the inside of the house looks like. All the shades are drawn and it doesn't feel very welcoming.

I also have to wonder what the neighbors think of this eyesore interesting dwelling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.