Snowdrop sparkle

This was taken early this morning in our garden, as the first shafts of sunlight hit the dewy grass of the orchard. I was keen to secure my blip, as my friend and her daughter were coming after lunch, and spending the afternoon and evening with us. At times like this I find a plastic garden kneeler is very useful - bought for me by Chris and Lizzie with just such moments in mind!

I'd woken with a nasty headache, and decided that a walk along the river was necessary before I could face cooking and tidying. It was bright and chilly out, but with little wind. The great tits and blue tits were calling continuously and I heard the melodious but repetitive chorus of the song thrush for the first time this year. I was also extremely surprised to see a sallow in full bloom on the far side of the river, the first pussy willow of the season. For part of my walk I was shadowed by a sparrowhawk, gliding silently through the shrubs.

I felt a lot better when I got home, and sorted the meal and tidying in record time. This afternoon and evening were spent in conversation. Ross and I both home-educated our children, and share many opinions and values. There are many times when we have both felt out of tune with the world around us, but time spent together makes us feel 'normal'. It's a shame that we live a long way apart, and don't get as many opportunities to meet up as we once had.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.