October 4th Journal

By IONAX

Two Ladies and Akrafjall

Driving by the coast to a small shop a little further out on the peninsula to get the monthly free issue of DVD and movies in Iceland - I saw two ladies walking briskly in the rain. I stopped and asked if I could take a picture of them and they just waved and smiled - and I took it as a YES!
The mountain (fjall) in the background is Akra-fjall (Akrar meaning fields) so it is a mountain of fields, but the name comes from a farm with the same name, Akrar. It's 643 m high and my parents-in-law had a farm on the other side of it. Thousands of years ago it was an island and archaeologists found bones of a big whale 15 m deep at the farm.
My wife grew up there and had many times dug into the mountain seeking treasures but she didn't dig deep enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.