earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Three Castles Head

Go large

I enjoyed a fabulous walk today with Travellersjoy, exploring the spine of the Sheepshead Peninsular, doing a circular route along the ridge taking in the summit of Caher Mountain, and returning via Horseshoe Lane. It was a day of fantastical clouds. The ridge offers a 360 degree panorama looking over the Beara Peninsular to the north and the Mizen Peninsular to the south (as seen here in this shot) and we were treated to a sensational atmospheric display. Although we didn't see much direct sun, it was another very mild and eerily still day, and we were able to watch the ever shifting play of light on the sea and the distant hills as the sun broke through holes in the slow moving clouds.

This is wild country. The path is marked but not much frequented and in places was quite hard to follow. This all added to the timelessness of the feeling you experience in this far corner of Ireland. I've only been here a few days but I've already acquired a strong affection for the landscape and a definite sense of place. My virtual friends have very quicky become very real and firm friends, people that I feel immensely privileged to have got to know, people whom I suspect are going to remain in my life for a long time to come. I certainly hope so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.