The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Celebrate

Shortly before Christmas, I received a package from my sister, who resides in Copenhagen, Denmark. She has written two cookbooks, worked as a food stylist, having written and produced beautiful entertainment spreads in several Danish magazines that rivaled Martha Stewart, and even developed recipes for the Danish Pork Council.

She sent me a book called The Gourmet which was originally written in French. The book is a short novel, centered around a dying food critic's quest to find the perfect food for his last meal.

The book fell a bit short of my expectations - maybe it was the translation - but what really got me was the fact that his discovery of the perfect last bite was a food I had never eaten. In fact, I didn't even know what the food was!

A trip to my computer, a search for a good recipe, and my mission was in full swing!
Now, I had to find the right moment to make them. That decision came when three exciting things happened in my family.

My younger daughter had a great 4 hour audition at a college, and my older daughter passed her Senior college Colloquium, an oral discussion with a panel of professors who decide whether or not you will get your college degree in your individualized study concentration.

The cherry on top came with the news that my brother had returned home from the hospital after a serious heart attack that made us all appreciate how fragile life is, and how miraculous modern medicine and EMT's are.

These treats were easy to make and fun to eat, but I wouldn't exactly want to die for one! Perhaps I will slip a piece of dark chocolate into the center before baking the next batch, and serve them with some ice cold champagne.

Chouquettes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.