Adam's Images

By ajt

Sodium Street Light

Today after getting home from work I went round to a friend's to help them with a computer problem.

They have an old PC with Windows XP installed but as they bought it second had they alas don't know the admin password and they can't get rid of an old copy of Norton which is preventing lots of things like Firefox or Chrome from working.

My friend had decided to upgrade the computer from Windows XP to Linux Mint. Everything had installed okay but when he rebooted Windows XP appeared as if nothing had happened! I had a look and the install must have terminated prematurely and not configured GRUB, so I configured that manually and rebooted. That wasn't such a good idea as Linux wouldn't boot and Windows XP wasn't even on the GRUB list...

We rebooted from a live disk and tried the installation again. Other than adding swap to the live instance it was a vanilla install just as before. This time it worked okay and both Linux Mint (default) and Windows XP now boot okay.

As a result I didn't have much blip time - I don't think watching an operating system install is that exciting so on my way home I photographed the old style sodium street lights. Not the best picture in the world but it's different and I'm pleased with the framing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.