The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Bay layer cake

I had been planning a lunchtime walk under the grey blanket of cloud, who knows, the Kendal 3 might just have shown up. But in the event, we spent the hour talking through a tricky piece of work. So I did what once I would never have done, I left the office half an hour early to make up for the lack of a break.

I got home in good time before sunset. Below the pall of grey there was a band of brighter light in the west. I headed for the Far Arnside Dip, just in time to catch the only colour in the sky that we saw all day, here reflecting in the channels of Morecambe Bay. The tapering snout of Humphrey Head projects into the Bay. As for the sun, it made a brief appearance right of this shot, now much further north than when I last saw it from here.

Thank you for all the comments, stars and hearts for the little Dartford warbler. Wasn't he just the cutest little bird? Both of yesterday's backblips ended up on the Spotlight page, that's a first for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.