Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Well

The 'well' is a very important structure in Indonesia. As far as I know, there is no mains water supply as we know it, at least in the half a dozen abodes that I have resided. Every house has a well. In fact, the only services that are 'piped to the house, are electricity and phone lines and these are via overhead cables.

Sometimes in the hillside villages, you will find water lines cobbled together with bamboo poles and bits of plastic piping, laid along the side of the road, leaking every few yards, but generally the first luxury item the villager house owner strives for, is to get a well dug.

When I first arrived here and visited Tesa's house in the kampung, the well water was drawn manually via a bucket and rope. Later, after I had the new house was built, it was a joy to see Mom's face when the tap was turned on and water flowed for the first time, unfortunately I was not there, but Tesa told me all about it.

This well is in the middle of the common and I have to step passed it every day, as I go about collecting insect blips, quite dangerous really, the walls being only a foot above ground level, children running about could easily fall in and at 50ft deep, would not stand a chance of survival.

This well is concrete lined and a very well built well! In my last house, the same was not true. The well was literally a raw, deep hole in the ground. Towards the end of the dry season, the water ran out as the water table dropped and the well had to be extended. I was wondering what tool that they were going to achieve this, ha! A skinny young man climbed down and hacked away with a trowel type tool. I was horrified, such a dangerous occupation.

The landlord insisted that I pay half, like it was my fault! I needed water and he had me over a barrel, but I told him that when the contract term was finished, I would not renew unless he paid. So short sighted, for the sake of $25 he lost a year or more rent, as the house remained empty for the next two years. My next house is literally across the road. Every time I see the landlord, I ask him "How's the well" with a big smile on my face.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.