A rural life for me

By Rhubarrb

Some tradition for St Patrick's Day

Many moons ago I dabbled in Irish Dancing and this was my dress. It is a very traditional one that the girls used to wear. (Now it all seems to be sparkles, lurid colours and mad curly wigs!!!!!)
The embroidery is all hand stitched. It is fully lined velvet, with stiffening material in the front panels to make them flatter. It weighs a bloody ton and is incredibly hot to dance in! Not that I am fit enough/slim enough to dance now or even want to!!

My wooden flute is my most (non living!) precious possession. Got it about 20 years ago and used to play all the time - even played in a ceilidh band when at uni and made an album! Love traditional irish music.

St Paddy's day is very special to me for no other reason than it meant an amazing weekend of music, food, drink, dancing, great craic, no sleep and most imortantly an annual catch up with the greatest friends! Sad we have all moved on now......

Enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.