Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... I'm so outta here!

...said the little downy woodpecker! Last week, our weeping cherries had fat buds, but bare branches. This week ... a profusion of tiny white blooms and lots of big, fat bumblebees flying around. I love the bumblebees, although my hubs doesn't like them. I find them fascinating, and was going to blip this one ... until the woodpecker showed up and stole the show! Here is my little downy friend an instant before she took flight..

I've been waiting all week for the cherry trees to bloom, hoping that I'd get some nice bird shots with the blooms in the background. This morning a tufted titmouse posed on the branch and then a lovely dark eyed junco boy, but I had to give it up to the flying downy. Not a perfect shot, but I am learning that they don't have to be perfect...

I am happy to say that it hasn't started raining yet so hubs and I spent several hours taking down the deer fencing and doing some spring tidy-up in the yard. Love this time of year... We also stopped by and brought lunch to a friend (hub's racing partner) who just had surgery to have a half of one of his lungs removed. Docs think they got all the cancer, but will not know until final pathology this week - so send some good thoughts please. He was in good spirits and we enjoyed the visit.

Thanks so much for sharing in my beaver-excitement yesterday! The little furry guy made it to the Spotlight page for a short while - I'm sure he'd be thrilled. Well, okay, maybe he wouldn't care, but I was thrilled. Thanks!

Off to pull some weeds and lay some mulch ... hoping the rain holds off just a bit longer...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.