Appreciation

By Appreciation

It doesn't matter where you go in the world, if you can find somewhere to have a nice sit down and a cup of tea or coffee then you have found a piece of heaven.

Armed with the weather forecast checked my girl and I stepped out early this morning with little in the way of warmth. By the time we got to the subway in Glasgow we began to doubt if the sun would get strong enough to take the chill off us. But we needn't have worried - I'm not sure I have ever been in Glasgow when it has been so warm and sunny.

My girl is still quite unsure about which - if any - University she want to go to, so our visits to these applicant days are important. Against her wishes I am attending them, although I think by the end of today she appreciated my presence or at least my wallet?

We found our way to the Uni easily enough - even if I did know how to get there, I wanted her to find out how easy it is. The English faculty talk was inspiring and she was very excitable when we came out.

Eager to keep the mood light I took her to a few vintage shops - we don't have enough of these in Edinburgh and those we do have are very expensive. Needless to say a trip without a purchase is not so memorable for her, that wasn't a prblem though.

Next Nardini's. A fabulous Italian owned cafe which has been in the West since the 40's I think, although the one we visited today in the bohemiene Byres Road is relatively new. The cakes were as large as the saucers.

I think we can say that she saw a very different Glasgow to the one she first made a visit to. Is it the one? Who knows. One down 4 to go.

I'm lying down now that subway doesn't have jolt you around.

Oh and I wanted to make a note that this is the day when Anna, my pals very talented girl, got offered a place to do Art at St Martin's Central, London. ONly the very few get to attend and I knew she was destined for it - her work is sublime and I am now working on getting my own signed copy of an early piece! Such a talent. So proud of her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.