Mail

I've slightly belatedly decided to follow a challenge. Today's topic is 'mail'.

This got me started checking up on postboxes in Scotland. My original thought was to photograph the oldest one in Edinburgh. But I got sidetracked by an aspect if Scottish history I'd not come across before. This one, from just outside our development, is quite an old one, from the reign of Edward VII at the beginning of the 20th century. In fact, since some incidents of sabotage of postboxes in Scotland in 1953, more recent postboxes in the reign of Elizabeth II carry only the crown of Scotland, and not the cipher of the monarch. So the one I decided to blip is a more recent postbox located on Leith Walk. In addition to the curiosity of it not carrying the monarch's cipher (essentially because there was an objection to Elizabeth II being called that in Scotland where some said she should be Elizabeth I), you can also see the manufacturer's name at the bottom of that photo, and here are some more details about that firm. This is obviously what's good about challenges. I would never have discovered this about postboxes in Scotland if I hadn't been following it.

This image is part of a 30 day April Challenge started by some blippers/photographers in Iceland

30 day-challenge:
1. Reflection
2. Mail
3. In my neighbourhood
4. Movement
5. Tiny
6. Shadow
7. In my purse
8. Egg
9. Pattern
10. Dirty
11. Bizarre
12. Window
13. Written words
14. Relaxation
15. Transportation
16. Red
17. The last thing I bought
18. Hair
19. Summer is here!
20. Bottle
21. Before / After
22. Good times
23. Vegetables
24. I'm thankful for...
25. Breakfast
26. A sign
27. Somewhere I went today
28. At 13:00
29. Circle
30. Emotion

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.