My Mini Adventure

By JJ46

Stupid Hand

Since my spinal surgery I have had trouble with the nerves in my right hand.

It was the C8 nerve root (between the C7 and T1 vertebrae) which was stripped of the tumour that was constricting it so it is my little and ring fingers, together with that side of my hand and forearm, which have been affected the most.

It started completely numb but feeling in that area has changed in the 5 weeks since the operation. At the moment I have patches of complete numbness but the overriding sensation currently is of incredible super-sensitivity. Even a light touch or a breeze across the little hairs on my arm feels like someone running a cheese-grater across my skin or it feels like it's burning. I cannot even rest it on the bed at night - have to hang my arm off the side of the bed as I wake up if I brush it against the duvet. Even a loose, long sleeve is too tight on my wrist.

I am sincerely hoping that this is just a passing phase, but I don't know enough about nerve damage/healing.

Sorry if it seems moany, I'm just recording and chronicling my recovery on some of my blips.

But, good news today. After being "lost" in the physiotherapy referral system for a few weeks, I had a phonecall today and I now have an appointment. At last! On Friday this week. I can now speak to someone about my aches and pains and get some practical advice to help. Finally!

So, here is a photo of my "stupid hand" as I have come to call it. It is trying to squeeze the exercise putty which I was given 5 weeks ago in hospital. Because the nerve signals are not getting through as they should, I have quite a weakness in my grip.

Roll on the physio and further changes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.