The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

A peck on the cheek

What I liked most about this scene was the doleful look of the cow at the back. This might make a good think bubble caption competition.

The jerseys were grazing a neighbouring field to the ones I was looking at early this morning for my wetland bird survey. At 0700 hours it was perishingly cold on the marshes, but by the time I finished the sun had broken through the clouds and it was turning into a beautiful day. The survey was just a little disappointing, only one of the four fields had any waders and I couldn't spot any nests of the lapwings, curlews and oystercatchers that I saw.

On the positive side, I had three new species for the year: lots of sedge warblers singing, one grasshopper warbler reeling (in exactly the spot where I heard one two years ago), and on the way home I stopped to watch the song flight of whitethroats on the Halforth marshes.

A year ago: the last comment and heart I received from Molly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.