Particles & Waves

By EdwardFenner

Reflecting on past achievements

The great unveiling was today at York University. A few weeks ago, and because I was a past recipient of the Murray G. Ross Award (aka President's Medal), I was invited to attend the ceremonies in Vari Hall Rotunda today. Many other honourees were in attendance. I met my predecessor from 2009. Also in attendance were those honoured in other categories such as teaching, alumni, staff - all part of a larger monument to commemorate us all as president's awards winners. My office colleague, Sharon, was there too as a recipient of a staff award.

Also up on the monument are the names of at least one of my professors and one professor friend. It was a very nice time and a distinct honour. It's also a bit fun (and a bit strange) to have one's name immortalized in such a fashion. It was especially nice to have my wife Linda with me to share the moment and to snap a few photos for me (we're both reflected in the glass).

Read the YFile story and view the short news video therein.

Curiously, the awards listed here only go back to 1984 when I know for a fact they go back to the 1960s and was won in 1977 by then student and now Canadian astronaut Steve MacLean (see his bio listing it). Hmmm. I'll have to pose the question.

I'll post some more photos later this week to give you a better view of the entire structure. In the mean time, you can check out a few more shots in one of my Facebook albums.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.