Dam Busters

Sneaked in a post-bank-holiday-holiday today whilst the most of the DWD household headed reluctantly (and noisily) back to school/work.

Had intended to set out on the bike, but the guilt of having a pile of emails to deal with and knowing postponing some jobs would mean the end of the week would be hideously crammed, I ended up spending the best part of the day sorting through some of that. It rained anyway.

I did manage a drive up to a very quiet* Gartmorn Dam though and spent a Terry Nutkins like twenty minutes surrounded by over twenty swans, ducks and Canadian geese who swooped in on me here when they thought my camera bag was a loaf of Hovis. As there were no off-lead dogs bounding around today they were quite content sharing the small beach with me as I snapped away with my Hovis.

No Gorillas in the Mist but it's nice when wildlife lets you get good and close like this without getting all jittery and breaking your arm and what-not.

*The fishing up here has been cancelled until next year due to an infestation of freshwater lice that the council are trying to prevent from spreading elsewhere, so there's no squads of anglers dotted around the Dam just now, or much of any other activities going on.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.