Roundway Hill

I'm not a sitting in the garden type. I prefer to drive out to somewhere remote to sit to read or write or cogitate grumpily about my lot. Yesterday I drove out to return to the roads, footpaths and byways south of Heddington, all of which come to a dead end (unless you have an off-roader and can cross the by-ways, as I once unsuccessfully tried, not in an off-roader). One such favoured spot is a cowshed on the Wessex Ridgeway, just beyond Hill Cottage. That is where I took this view of Roundway Hill. Apart from the cows (and a friendly bull) I had my book, a circling buzzard and a pair of pheasants for company.

On the way back I called on a friend for coffee and chat. Her garden has the River Marden running beside it, and just by her French window a pair of mallard drakes have taken up a residence on her flowerbed, and wander in to her kitchen from time to time if she hasn't kept up a regular supply of titbits.

L.
8.5.2012

Blip #706
Consecutive Blip #021
Day #775

Alternatives:
Friendly Bull
Nosey Cows
Ducks In D's Garden

Lens: Pentax 17-70mm

Heddington series


One year ago: Crunch Time (Amy Pond and Smokey)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.