Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... A chip-blip

Still feeling like poo today, but at least I had a chipper sighting! This little chipmunk is one I've blipped before - he lives on the little ridge between our property and the neighbor. On the rare occasions I see him, he is either here on his favorite large rocks (the entire ridge is rocky) or up the big tree next to the rocks. I'm sure he must venture out to other spots, but he blends in so well that I probably wouldn't notice him scampering about in the brush and leaves. It is the same tree where I always see the downy and red-breasted woodpeckers - a huge old tree with lots of knotholes and leafy branches.

So, doesn't it look like he is nervously biting his little chipper-nails ? I think he is - he's saying "oh, how exciting to be on Blip! Yay, me!!"

What do you think we should name him? And do you think he's a he or is he a she? Perhaps a non-gender name... I am leaving the naming of the chipper chipmunk to all of you, so give it your best...

The other special moment today was when I looked out our kitchen window and saw a beautiful Eastern Bluebird, posing on the patio! They are one of our most beautiful birds and since they don't eat seeds, I don't often see them. I also got Big Daddy to try shooting a hoverfly in mid-hover - really needed a different lens for that one! Then we (BD) and I were able to get a quick shot of the male wren sneaking out of the second wren box - he's also put some sticks and twigs in this box, but nothing to compare to the architectural masterpiece that is jammed in the first box. I think he's just wanting to have a back up plan in case the Mrs changes her mind.

I'm certain that the chickadees have hatchlings - the Mr was busy taking suet and seeds (and once a big juicy caterpillar) to the nestbox for the Mrs this morning. I went to within about 10 feet of the box and the Mrs poked her head out but wouldn't leave (and I didn't want to go any closer and flush her from the nest).

I have not gotten a look at the mystery birds who have nested in the shrub by the garage yet - just wasn't feeling up to a stake out today. But soon...

Loving all the hummingbird blips I'm seeing here - as well as the beautiful sunsets, sunrises, landscapes, birds, bugs and flowers. What an amazing pool of talent ... Thanks for all your comments and well wishes on my poo-virus - love you guys!

Happy Humpday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.