Paul's Imagination.

By paulransom

My day reminded me of this scene from Gilmore Girls, but slightly less extreme:

{They sit down, Rory with a notepad.}

MITCHUM: I've worked with a lot of young people over the years. Interns, new hires. I've got a pretty good gut sense for people's strengths and weaknesses. Whether they have that certain something to make it in journalism. It's a tough business. Lot of stress.

RORY {smiling}: Definitely.

MITCHUM: And I have to tell you. You don't got it.

{Rory is stunned.}

MITCHUM: Now, guts can be wrong. Mine's been wrong before. But not often.

RORY: I thought I was doing okay.

MITCHUM: I just don't really think that you have the drive to put yourself out there, to be honest. To get a story. To dig. I mean, just now in this meeting, I encouraged everyone to say whatever they wanted. You said nothing.

RORY: I wasn't sure if I should.

MITCHUM: Exactly. I mean, you saw Harry. He jumped right into the fire. You didn't.

RORY: But Harry's not an intern!

MITCHUM: Doesn't matter.

RORY {near tears}: I've always done what's asked of me.

MITCHUM: See, the thing is, in the real world, it's not always good enough to do just what's asked of you.

RORY: But I thought I was in a really good rhythm with everyone here.

MITCHUM: I'm not saying you're not competent. You're smart. You're terrific at anticipating needs. Actually, you'd make a great assistant.

RORY: Oh.

MITCHUM: I'm sorry. It's not my pleasure to disappoint someone like you. Especially you. What with the extenuating circumstances. But it's healthy. I don't know any other way. I don't B.S.

RORY: I should get back.

{She gets up and heads for the door. Mitchum stands up.}

MITCHUM: Hey, listen. I know this is rough, but, uh, I may have just done you a big favor.

RORY: Oh. Okay. Thanks.

{She walks out and back to her workstation. She looks extremely troubled.}

(Oh and my 'awesome' bag broke. Not so awesome after all)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.