Scattered Polaroids

By sp

A busy day, Saturday.

My mum arrived at 9. Hugs, then a short walk to the gallery in the library for an exhibition of Jane Bown portraits. She was one of the first photographers I really fell in love with, and the exhibition was suitably wonderful.

Back out into the sun and on a train to Southampton. We had a mission: find me something to wear to graduation. After a coffee and a slice of (amazing) bitter orange polenta cake in John Lewis, we set out. I think in the end I must have tried on about 30 dresses, most of them lovely but just not quite right. In the end it was Topshop that delivered, so we staggered - entirely shopped-out and extremely hungry - towards the dock for a spot of al fresco lunch.

Back to Winch for a browse in the Hambledon and a cuppa, before I walked her back to the station. More hugs and the scary realisation that the next time we see each other may well be my degree show.

I got home and went to Peter's house for a barbecue. It was the kind of evening that makes me realise how much I'm going to miss it here. The kind of hastily arranged, spontaneous, just-because-the-sun's-shining evening. Everyone sat in a long neglected patio, on mismatched dining chairs, picking on me for being a veggie, drinking cheap cider and having serious conversations about advances in medical science (and equally serious conversations about how Peter should wear his hair at graduation).

A busy day, Saturday. But entirely, completely, unequivocally lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.