Mr John

By MrJohn

Race .....

..... Partner.

This evening was the second race in the Harrogate District Summer Road League (HDSRL). The race today was hosted by the Thirsk & Sowerby Harriers in Thirsk.

Once again I've had pre race nerves all day but luckily have had a fairly busy day sorting out banking in the morning, cleaning out my fish tanks at lunchtime and I had a trip to Guiseley this afternoon to get some bits and pieces for my fish and also had another go at some street photography whilst there. I mentioned two weeks ago on blip that my last race two years ago that ended up with me in hospital was the Thirsk run, so today I've been trying not to think about what happened last time. Being busy helped take my mind of the impending race.

I went to the race with Fellow Ilkley Harriers, Dom and my neighbour Dave. When we arrived I saw Alison, who I had run with on the last HDSRL race in Ilkley. Alison very kindly said she was pleased to see me at the race and asked if we could run together again, I was hoping she would ask me and was more than pleased to say yes. The course has changes since the last time I ran it and is now less road and more track, passing along side fields of rape seed and cows. The views tonight were lovely and the weather perfect for running.

Alison and I were shoulder to shoulder for the whole race, perfectly matched and pushing each other all the way. There were quiet a few times where my legs were shouting at me to ease up a bit, but I couldn't let Alison down so carried on pushing myself. The pair of us overtook quiet a few runners all the way and even lapped some of the runners at the back. The last mile of the race was over rougher ground through fields, with five or six styles to pass though. Alison took the lead going through the slyles first as her off road running is much better than mine. On the last 100 yards to the finish line I had a bit of a sprint so that we would finish together. I was so worn out physically and mentaly that I forgot to stop my timer, but we finished in about 37:30.

Thirsk running club had put on a great spread at the post race buffet in their club house next to the racecoarse. There were plenty of sandwiches pork pies sausage rolls and most importantly cake, all washed down with a pint of larger.

As I couldn't have gotten through the race this evening without Alison, todays blip is my .....


..... Race partner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.