Whitecliff

By DaveWhitecliff

South of Great Mell Fell

We're in the Lakes, a polar maritime high weather system has moved in for a few days -- my favourite weather to be in the mountains: crystal clear skies and ambient temperature around zero. This the view into the low winter afternoon sun... I love it here anytime, but in weather like this it's just the best of days.

And the new BlipFoto interface truly, truly sucks. I couldn't upload this image while I was in the Lakes because the new interface threw timeouts and "unknown error occurred" when the old interface always worked fine from the same location; when I got home to fibre broadband, even that wasn't fast enough. The only way I could get it to upload was to downsample the image to 1.5Mb. I imagine in years to come someone will write a case study on how they took a great site and made it awful. I had been looking forward to re-starting the one-upload-a-day every day for 2015 (I did it in 2013, then took a break for 2014) but this interface and the design and the slow back end is just *so* crap that right now I think maybe I would be better off posting my daily image to tumblr or wordpress, and save myself the cost of another year's Blip membership. They've ruined Blip IMHO.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.