Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

A Nose for Toes

Mom and I went for a different sort of scoot today - we went on the Busy Street! I knew something was up when we went the opposite direction than usual. I get a little nervous on the Busy Street, but I stay really close to Mom's scooter and she keeps me on the short leash, so nothing bad can happen (except she got a little too close to a dog who was at the bus stop and she ran over his toe! She felt just awful! And to top it off, he was a guide dog! But he was OK, whew.)

We crossed another really Busy Street! We stopped to hear a nice young woman play her ukulele. She thought I was adorable.

And then I had a hunch where we were going, so I slowed down till Mom almost had to drag me. Yup, I was right - we were going to get my nails trimmed! It's the thing I hate the most. We were there early, so there weren't any other barky dogs in there or big noisy dryers and clippers going, which helped me relax a little. It's not that it hurts, I just don't like anyone to touch my feet! I'm very sensitive. But I was well behaved this time, and so I got not one, but TWO treats!

And then, best of all, we kept going on the Busy Street and ended up in the Dog Store! I love the Dog Store, there are so many yummy smelling things in there! And sometimes I can reach the open boxes of dog biscuits. I tried to sneak one, but Mom was watching and tugged me away, darn it.

Then we met this woman at the counter, she was soooo nice! She said how cute I was and we compared our pedicures, and she gave me treats, too. Mom was really impressed with her shoes and asked if she could take a photo of them (Mom's kind of weird that way). Of course, I had to get in the photo too! Her toes were so fancy, I didn't think it would be appropriate to lick them.

We came home the long way, so we didn't have to be on the Busy Street again. Part of it was a new neighborhood for me, so I got to find all sorts of new smells! I love checking pee-mail, and there's so much of it around here.

All in all, it's been a pretty good day so far. The babies were in the back yard when we got home, so I got to lick some toes after all. Now I'm going to take a nap. Bye! --Liza Jane

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.