Leiflife

By Leiflife

A Visitor

She was plump with a glossy coat.
Showed no signs of starvation...
Only the imploring depth of her eyes,
and her steady attention on me
gave away her purpose.
She was there to appeal
to my tender heart.
It had gotten around:
my affinity for wild things.
The squirrels and the birds
had spread the news.
The armadillos and possums
had squealed on me.
My empathetic and indulgent nature
was a sure thing
when it came to handouts:

"Just pose for her camera.
Gaze into that third eye
she carries around.
Don't be afraid... Don't,
for mercy's sake,
turn tale and run.
Cultivate a sweet demeanor.
Touch her soul with yours.
Just briefly...
Hang around
just long enough
for dog food to come raining down.
Yummy in the tummy!"

Oh dear...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.