Salvage from the Wreckage

By NickMogToo

A one to..to forget

The day of the annual University relay.

From left to right, we are: Me, my boss's, boss's, boss's, boss's, boss's boss, Kathryn and Mrs NickMog(too).

As usual, a painful process. The 1.1 mile route is a horrible distance, not long enough to settle down to a comfortable pace and not short enough to sprint. So, it just feels horrible.
I managed 6:15 which is about 5:41 a mile. Not my fastest, that was 6:08 in 2007, but 2 seconds faster than last year. My first effort was 6:26 in 2002 and I've been pretty consistent ever since.
There were about 75 teams - so 300 runners - ranging from local Athletics clubs to people who have probably never run that far before! And I was pretty pleased to be 15th overall.

And, if I am a little creative, I can improve on that.

For instance, I was faster than anyone else I actually know. That's quite a good one...
And I was probably the fastest person not wearing a proper running shirt.

To celebrate, I spent the afternoon coughing.

And, as with last year (https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/4290491), swearing "never again"!

P.S. The football final yesterday ended in penalty shoot-out heartbreak...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.