Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

It Just Wasn't Meant To Be

April 22, 2015, our 37th Anniversary, the day the bald eagles finally were "test driving their nest"...everything looked so promising!  I spent a few hours in the morning observing them, anxious as we were leaving to head south to Klamath Falls for a 5 day "birding adventure"...hoping that while I was gone they would lay their egg.  While I was gone, I got updates...most of which didn't sound good.

When I returned I got the news that things had fallen apart at the nest.  There had been several stray eagles creating havoc, and even a pair of Canada Geese who had taken over the nest for a bit (some 150' in the air)!  In a way I was glad that I had not witnessed all of this, but very very sad and disappointed that we would not be an egg and we would not be observing an eaglet this summer.   Some things are just not meant to be.

For more photos from that day, visit my flickr set.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.