The Big Day

The wedding day couldn't have been more perfect. It started early for the bridesmaids at about 10 when the hair and make-up folks arrived. I spent much of the early part of the day in the suite with all the girls. I took this shot of our lovely bride just before she put on her dress. After that, I shifted over to our room where my four sons gathered to have their finishing touches added by their mother.

The weather was perfect, in the upper 60's and sunny. The ceremony went off at 6:30 right on time and was held on the terrace that overlooked the golf course and the skyline of NYC in the distance. After that the party was on - with cocktails, dinner and dancing until midnight and an after-party that went on until 3. The older folks bailed out well before then but I can still say it was a rollicking good time. There was high energy, lots of love and great fun the entire night. Our bride and groom were simply gorgeous and so happy.

I went back and forth about taking a camera, after all there were official photographers and we had also enlisted a couple of friends and family members to take candid shots. In the extra shot, you will see that by the time I left the hotel for the wedding, I still had my Nikon and Sony cameras over my shoulders and the small Sony in my bag. And of course, my husband also had his Nikon. I took only a few shots when I got the venue, and then decided I would just put them away and be part of the story instead of trying the capture it. It was a good decision.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.