*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

136/365: Save Grange Lido... please

Back-blipping as I was out all day yesterday and didn't get in until late and I was knackered!

Caught the train from Bingley to Arnside, changing at Carnforth (photographed the station clock from Brief Encounter, as is tradition - I must have hundreds of photos of it!) Had breakfast at the Beach Walk Cafe in Arnside. I love it in there - the view is great and the owner is such a genuinely nice bloke. 

Had a wander around the nature area above the town. The volunteers have made this absolutely beautiful. Had a pint in the Albion, bought some scones to take home then got the train to Grange-over-Sands for some lunch and a wander down the prom to see if anything was doing with the Lido. 

Not much appears to have changed except they have finally realised that people want to be able to see in so have removed some of the boards and put up metal grills to look through. Makes photography difficult (took some close ups on my Nikon - massive zoom, and whacked it on the widest aperture so the metal bars all but disappeared - they came out quite well surprisingly) but it was great to be able to finally be able to see inside properly. Made me feel quite sad to think of all the people who will have enjoyed it over the years (it opened in 1932 - the year my dad was born) and I wish the Save Grange Lido campaign every success in trying to get it rennovated and reopened. It's one of the few lidos left and it would be such  shame if it was lost. I'm sure people and families used to have much more fun back in the day :/

Had a fab day and the weather was very kind :)

I've included an extra photo of the Lido back when people used to have fun! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.