Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Pons Aelius

Today there was an afternoon concert in the Sele Park as part of the Hexham Gathering.  It was a cold, cloudy afternoon.  Most people were well wrapped up with thick jackets and woolly hats!

I enjoyed capturing a few candid shots in the crowd. Photographing the bands was tricky. They played on a bandstand which is raised up. There was a large white van as a backdrop. This flute player, who is the nephew of a friend of mine, played close to the microphone. I lurked with intent for some time before I caught this shot.

Incidentally he has a good embouchure with the corners of his lips turned down. (Flute players should not look smiley because smiling puts tension in the lips.)

He's a member of Pons Aelius, which I'm sure you know is the name of the Roman fort in Newcastle. I didn't know that. They are a sextet of students on the Folk Degree Course at Northumbria University. Brilliant.

I met a few friends in the park too.

This morning I managed to plant up a couple of garden tubs and hose and broom the patio. Good to feel well enough to do it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.