creative lenna

By creativelenna

Royal poinciana tree

It is often hard for me to chose one photo to blip from the many I take on most days. But this flowering tree that I came across while visiting the grounds of the Ringling Museum on Sunday is just spectacular -look at it a bit larger, here.

I first came across the royal poinciana tree 2 years ago, here in Florida. At the time, I did not know what it was and had to do some research. We were renting a home around the corner from a huge poinciana tree and I took some photos and wrote about it here. You will not believe the size of this flowering tree! In fact, I really should drive over to our old neighborhood, take some photos and say hi to the old gang. These trees typically bloom here in May or June and are a sight to behold.

Since moving & buying our own home, I have planted a royal poinciana tree in our front yard. It is just a baby, with no blooms yet, but it is doing well and has grown a lot in the year since I have planted it. It makes me smile!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.