Poppy

By Poppy

Italian Chapel

Picked Molly and Richard up after they'd been to church and headed for another church, the Italian Chapel.  It was converted from a Nissen hut by Italian prisoners of war in WWII and is a very special place.  Luckily we got there when it was almost empty.  Usually at this time of the year it is full of visitors, which does tend to spoil the experience somewhat.

Heading south, we called in at the Burrray Fossil and Heritage Centre, where we had a lovely lunch, then spent the rest of the afternoon browsing round and exploring all the exhibits.  Fascinating place, every time I go I find something new to interest me!

Cooked roast chicken and all the trimmings for dinner, followed by lemon meringue pie!  As we have our own hens, I made a huge one with 5 eggs!  Terrific sky as we drove them back to Kirkwall - I think they'll sleep tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.