Parramatta Rd

I recently read somebody describe it as 'Sydney's varicose vein', which I thought was wonderful.

As you leave the M4 in Sydney there's a row of shops which I've been keeping a close eye on for a few years.
One by one they've closed, with only the 'Da Franco' now open.
I'm not quite sure how the patrons approach this restaurant, but they must be intrepid and determined.

I'm reminded of a car park in Top Ryde, I think, where a woman refused to sell to developers and her house remained for many years slap bang in the middle of a huge car park.

It's been impossible to document the decline of these shops, as they're adjacent to the six lane Parramatta Rd, which is always busy.
If I was a proper photographer I'd get up before dawn on a Sunday, when I might have a chance of getting a decent shot.

Anyway, I couldn't believe my luck when the red light meant that I was stopped opposite them.
Of course, I had the wrong lens on, so this was the best I could manage.

It won't be any time before both sides of Parramatta Rd will be filled with thousands of apartment blocks.

Watch this space.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.