Friends Cemetery

I suspect that most normal people do not begin their days this way. There I was in my dress clothes, crawling across the cemetery on my stomach, trying to get a good shot of the gravestones against a dramatic breaking sky.

But as any of my friends might tell you, this sort of behavior is kind of normal for me. And the good news is that the ground wasn't really (very) wet. I did find myself picking grass off my shirt later in the day, but that's a small price to pay for getting the shot.

The breaking light came and went. And the birds flew from tree to tree. And the hills were green and quiet. And the gravestones kept their secrets. And all was peaceful at Friends Cemetery.

In honor of the name of this cemetery, I have picked a song to accompany this photo called Friends. It got a lot of airplay in the early 80s contemporary Christian music scene, when Amy Grant and Michael W. Smith were very popular. And the lyrics seem to fit this image, so here they are: Grant and Smith, with Friends.

But we'll keep you close as always
It won't even seem you've gone
'Cause our hearts in big and small ways
Will keep the love that keeps us strong

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.