Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Small Heath

Another sign that summer is almost here, the Small Heath butterflies have emerged on the moor - this is one of five that I observed in a quick look around the local patch after work. I also spotted my first UK Large Skipper of the year, in one of it's regular spots on the moor, but it eluded the camera.

Next,  a dragonfly that I hadn't seen on the moor before, a Broad-Bodied Chaser.  Plenty of moths too - scores of Brown Silver-Lines lifting from the dead bracken as I walked through, still some Common Heaths , my first Nettle-tap of the year and lots of tiny Bilberry Rollers flitting about the Bilberry. 

I'm missing the dead camera with its 30X zoom (still in warranty, so hopefully Sony repairs can do something about that) , but there's still some life in the old DSC-W110.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.