Capital adventures

By marchmont

Dad's Day

This morning did some domestic stuff and broke down all the lilac pruning. So cold for midsummer. Miserable. Change of plan for London, I'm now going by sleeper tonight. I Skyped KL briefly before #1d in l and Olivia set off for Barcelona via London.

#2 son is not well, a hacking cough but he had to go to Haddington to be interviewed on East Coast Radio.

Mum and dad came.l, by taxi. A stressful meal. I'm so out of practice cooking proper meals and of course #2 son is no help, glued to his phone most of the time. So dad spends most of the afternoon asleep, mum reminiscing and saying how awful the weather is and #2 son complains about the meal, my cooking, the presentation, the gin liqueur. I gave dad a card and chocolates. He'll enjoy them. I'm glad at 92 he is still with us but it's hard, trapped in the middle of aged and increasingly infirm parents and an angry adult son. Being a single parent sucks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.