PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

No we haven't seen any polar bears!

On our last day in Canada I persuaded my fellow traveller/chauffeur to go to the McMichael Canadian Art Collection near Toronto. I did promise lunch as part of the deal!

A brilliant place with a lot of the paintings of the Group of Seven, the first artists to try to establish a Canadian style of art in the early 20th century. Their portrayal of Canadian scenery is fabulous.

I was not allowed to take photographs in the gallery, so decided to blip a sculpture of a polar bear and cub, which stands in the grounds. I feel the sculpture conveys an extraordinary sense of presence and power, combined with sensitivity.

The gallery is a beautiful modern building set in extensive and lovely parkland. There are huge windows looking directly out onto trees. A very pleasant place to view paintings.

Oh and lunch was good too!

We fly home tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.