an image of teamdel

By teamdel

A haven in the middle of my youth

Today we headed to Fareham. A place where I spent a lot time in my childhood on account of being schooled near there. A while a go I won some canvas printing and so today, finally, we got it sorted. After a nice lunch, where Boy insisted on dippy his chips in ketchup then putting them in my fingers to hold for him to eat a bit of before repeating the process, we collected the pictures and they look great. Now we just have to find somewhere to hang them.

We left Fareham centre and headed to Hill Head. On the way we stopped by my old school as Girl wanted to see what it was like. From what we could see it looked very much the same as all those years ago but the tennis courts looked nicer. Once at Hill Head we went to Titchfield Haven. In all my years of stomping around this area in my youth I never visited it. It was really great and we all had a bit of a go at twitching. Girl really enjoyed using the binoculars that were lent to us at the visitors centre, even if I am not sure she really saw much through them.

I was concerned that the birdwatchers may not like us with little ones in tow appearing but they were actually in most cases really friendly and in the first Hide a couple were really pleased to see the little ones and gave them lots of knowledge and advice.

A highlight was in the first hide when Boy accidently said his name. He makes a point of never saying it and only states his surname when asked what his name is. Its his little joke. He quickly back tracked and went back to last name duty but he did finally crack for a moment.

In another hide we were watching the very loud and busy birds outside when all of a sudden the birds seemed to ramp up even more of a level as a heron appeared and then was charged away from the water by all the gulls.

As usual we ended the day with some cake. A really good day seeing lots of interesting things, even if we do have to be careful not to start twitching officially.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.