Histerid

I decided that I needed the weekend to catch up, so resisted the urge to go out and do some more fieldwork just because the sun was shining. Instead I stocked the fridge (how do young men eat so much?), pottered in the garden, did some washing and even found time to lie in the garden and watch the clouds drift past.

The evening was quiet, as all three offspring were at a house party. We popped over to look after our neighbour's dog at about 10pm and spent a lovely half hour in the garden with her, throwing the ball and playing with her favourite toys. It almost made me want another dog, but I'm going to resist for a bit longer....

I didn't even think to get the camera out until very late when I remembered I was supposed to be photographing some of Pete's beetles. This is an Histerid beetle, one of the larger ones to live in the UK, all of which have a very similar body plan. It's awaiting identification, so I may add a name later. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.