My Great Success Story

By SavvyStereo

Sunrise Over The Caspian Sea

So, here goes the first backblip from my backpacking last year. I have five weeks to get through but I'll take it slowly.

I wasn't blipping when I left and have only resumed a couple of months ago so this holiday is a major hole in my blip history.

This was taken on the first leg of our flight to Bangkok, between London and Delhi.

We were treated to an incredible view as sunrise conincided with our flight over the Caspian sea, the largest in-land body of water on the earth.

From our short lived travel diary:

We left Heathrow at 9.30pm on Air India. Courtney's parents dropped us off at the airport and Andrew, who has a job at Heathrow, met us and came through security and had a coffee with us, because he's so cool and has clearance.... show off.

Despite reviews of 'visibly angry' staff the flight to Delhi was quite good. The food was pretty awesome and tasted just like indian takeaway that had been left on the counter overnight.

I haven't been on many long haul flights so I quite enjoyed it, especially as we were flying east, meaning the sun rose just as we were over the western shores of the caspian sea, got some fancy photos. It was also very interesting seeing what I believe to be the as mountain ranges of Pakistan/Afghanistan.

Currently writing this in Delhi airport. We bought some drinks for 360 rupees, I have no idea how much that is....

Courtney: Courtney is feeling sick sick meeehhh! Due to lack of sleep and weird pudding on the plane :s it looked like teeny tiny worms!

Steve Don't listen the (rice) pudding was awesome!


After this we had another flight to Bangkok with more Curry (and tiger beer!), much to my delight and Courtney's disgust. When we landed we got a taxi straight to my uncle's apartment, which has a great view over the city.

Uploaded 10/06/2012

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.