FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Station Cat

This black and white moggy was sat on Platform 3 at Tonbridge Train Station while I waited for the 19:26 from Charing Cross to arrive. Perhaps he lives in the station office or perhaps he was just waiting for a bit of attention (well, we all need some once in a while).

This is the second cat I've seen today. The first was a tabby cat with a fluffy white bib that poked his head into the office through the open fire escape looking for shelter from the rain.

Cats have a wonderful aura about them that says: "I belong here. This is my spot!" They are daring, curious opportunists and sneaky.

I wonder if I'll see another feline creature before the evening is over. I've done a lot of wondering today. Mainly wishing I could read somebody's mind but that's another story.

I was hoping to meet a friend for drinks or a movie tonight for a bit of escapism, but I worked late, I'm still not home at the time of writing this and my friend is busy anyway. It seems impossible trying to organise to meet up with friends at the moment (outside of air shows and volunteering commitments) with current schedules.

This evening I'll find my escapism in some creative writing. I'm entering a competition recommended to me by a former PR colleague of mine. The challenge is to write 2,000 words on the theme 'A difficult conversation'. The winning entries will be selected by PR agency Kindred and published in a book raising money for The Eve Appeal.

I've been a supporter of the charity for six years since I lost my nan to Ovarian Cancer so I'm keen to enter. I started writing a novel about 10 years ago and I still haven't finished it. I'd be thrilled to get published. In the meantime I'll keep rambling on Blipfoto instead!

If you're in the PR, media or publishing industry and fancy getting published then check out the competition here www.kindredagency.com/weneedtotalk

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.