Annie and Chris

By AnnieAndChris

London Nightrider 2012

Wow. Exhausted.

Here is a collection of photos from the London Nightrider 2012 we did last night - a 100km cycle through central London starting at around midnight. All are a little rough and ready, but you'll appreciate the cycling was the important bit.

As we blipped yesterday, I'm not the fittest of people - but I completed it and I am extremely proud. I was slow and Chris was an absolute superstar, peddling slowly with me the whole way and encouraging me up the hills. As a result we only walked up three short bits in the whole 100km.

London was amazing to see at night and as the sun came up. It really is beautiful in so many places. We also got some lovely cheers of encouragement from late revellers who'd asked what on earth was going on with all these bikes (well, mostly encouragement). Kudos to the Chelsea-ites who were still chatting away in a Bistro as we cycled past at 4am.

I am blown away that the current fundraising total for Cancer Research stands at over £1,100. I can guarantee to all my sponsors that it was this generosity that kept me going. The last 40km was cycled on stubborness alone. Thank you so much to all of you lovely people.

The ride didn't start well. The 3,000 riders were started in big batches at 5 minute intervals. Our batch started from Alexandra Palace at half past midnight, and we set off as a herd at speed down the hill. Unfortunately as we were just following the herd, we only found out later it was the wrong way down the hill. The backtrack back to the right route was not popular. The (correct) route is here if you want to take a look.

There were no major incidents or injuries with us, thankfully. My knees are now complaining, but I am extremely grateful that they kept quiet and got on with it on the ride itself. I'm left with numb little and ring fingers - a common cycling complaint from long rides caused by irritation of the ulnar nerve from leaning on the handlebars.

A shout out too to the weather - mild, no significant wind and dry - who'd have thought it after last week?

Celebrity corner: Ben Fogle set off at speed in the first batch; I wished Princess Eugenie good luck and she said "Thanks - and to you too!" (not sure of the royal etiquette of charity night cycles - should I have courtesied on the bike?); and on the final 100m back up Alexandra Palace to the finish David Dimbleby offered me a push.

Thank you for all of the messages of support yesterday - we flicked to them in rest stops and they helped spur us on. It was a fabulous thing to do, but forgive me if I don't look at my bike for a while. :)

Sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.