Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

"Will you be my friend?"

I went to visit the allotments in Haydon Bridge this morning for a project I'm doing. (There will be more to say about this in the future I'm sure.)

One of the allotmenteers, (I like that word), was feeding dock leaves to this young nanny goat. He bought her to keep the grass down, so that he could see where the bantams lay their eggs, but she was not eating enough grass.  He had to buy geese, who are doing the job very well. She has not had a kid so is not milking yet. One of the hens had 12 tiny chicks, running after her. All very entertaining.

After I had walked around the site with my camera, I returned past this allotment. As soon as she saw me, the goat was on her hind legs and smiling through the wire gate. Quite charming for a goat!

We watched the mens' final at Wimbledon this afternoon. What great tennis. I thought that the better player won on the day, although I had hoped to see Federer win one more time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.