Christography

By ChrisGroucutt

Glass

The village where I live is pretty much synonymous with Glasswork and Glassblowing, and it's surprising I haven't blipped anything glass related so far. Wasn't really intending to today either, but on a little walk out with the family we managed to catch one of the artists working in the Cone and decided today was the day.

The Redhouse Cone is pretty famous in the Black Country, and even features in our newly born flag. I've been planning to do a series of blips featuring the Cone and it's impact on the skyline around these parts, and if it weren't for the weather looking like it's about to turn I might have been tempted to use today to kick it off. Maybe I still will, if the mood takes me tomorrow.

Just noticed that this blip features a pretty neat '100' made up from the glass artist and the furnace. I spent the last 30 minutes desperately trying to find something significantly '100ish' that happened today so I could pretend I totally intended it.

The only thing I could find was that 2015 is the centenary of the Woman's Institute and also of the Einstein working out his whole relativity thing. If you can shoehorn that into something, have at it. I'm putting the kettle on.

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.